Site announcements

Help with Planning and Task Management (Important)

Help with Planning and Task Management (Important)

by William Michael -
Number of replies: 0

Dear friends,

Over the past two weeks, Dania and I have had many discussions with homeschool parents interested in tutoring, and the #1 request they have made is for help directing their children's daily studies and providing some accountability for their weekly work.

Of course, we are willing and able to help with this and would like to begin sharing with parents how we can do so.

One point I emphasize with parents is that, ideally, there are three people involved in the education of a child:  the parent, the student and a tutor.  Each of these three persons has an important role to play, and if we play them together, we can do great things.  As a tutor, I am an expert in the academic content and its study, but I am not present with the student through the day.  I cannot supervise his activity--this is a parent's job.  Likewise, parent is with the student throughout the day, but cannot teach the academic content or direct the student in how to study each course--this is the tutor's job.  When the parent and tutor work together, great things can happen.  

I have published two "Daily Student Planners" for use with students.  One is for students working through the High School Diploma program and the other is for students studying the classical Catholic curriculum without concerns about high school requirements.  

Parents and I can customize these planners based on each family's schedule and goals.  Once settled, I can begin working with the students to work within these schedules and help plan their studies meeting by meeting.  Parents can work to make sure that students use and submit these planners to me for review.  This will provide the students with the direction and accountability they need.

The Daily Student Planner forms can be viewed here: https://classicalliberalarts.com/dsp