What it Means to be a Student

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    William C. Michael
    Admin

The rule of learning, which wise men taught in the past, is that we seek to learn about things in this world by studying what is true of most or all of them, and then leaving the study of individual differences to the end, because they are infinite.  This is why, when we learn about words, we learn the characteristics of the parts of speech, rather than individual words.  However, when the time comes, we do focus on individual words whose meaning, in different places, is important.

As a teacher, I prepare lessons that I believe will be clear and helpful for most students. That’s all I can possibly do when making lessons for students all over the world, who are very different.  I publish the lessons, and then work with individual students to master them.

It is the student’s job to ask questions.  The word “student” means “one who is seeking”, and if you’re seeking to master your lessons, you will usually need to ask questions.  When something isn’t clear, or an assessment question is difficult to answer, it is the student’s job to contact the teacher and ask for individual help.  This is not “cheating” or a sign that you’re not “smart”.  This is normal study–and it’s a sign that you’re actually doing your job as a student.

In the Gospels, Mary and Joseph lost Jesus while traveling.  They searched the city and found him, in the temple, where he was studying with the elders there.  How was he learning?

“They found (the child) Jesus in the temple, sitting in the midst of the scholars, listening to them, and asking them questions.”  (Luke 2:46)

Jesus was a student.